ALL the Adventures

Dearest Captain Spazzmataz,

This weekend has been quite adventurous, excluding today, which was very lazy.  I’ve been pretty excited to post about all the excitement.

So, this week was parent teacher conferences.  That means I had to stay at school until about 8:30, but it wasn’t so bad.  Afterwards, I went to one of the other teacher’s houses to hang out for a little bit, so that was fun bonding times.  Since we were in school for so long, we had Friday off.  I was absolutely awesome, if I do say so myself, and scoured the house.  It looked pretty beautiful.  Sparhawk’s family was in town, and of course we went to Lambert’s for dinner.

Saturday was my true day of adventures, so I chose to make it my sister backpack adventure.  I began by putting adorable bandanas on the pups, and taking them to the pets and pumpkins parade.

IMG_3228 IMG_3234

Nyxie looks a little pitiful in her picture, but I swear she didn’t mind.

The event was fun and cute.  We didn’t stay for the actual parade portion.  I thought that’d be a little stressful for the small one.  But we walked around, looked at the booths, got free stuff, and saw a bunch of adorable dogs in costume.  At one point, we saw five corgis dressed at the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.  So perfect.  The sister bag served an excellent purpose in collecting all our goodies.

IMG_3230 IMG_3236

Afterwards, I swung by Elle’s for a pumpkin spice macaroon and some other delicious treats.  When we arrived home, the pupups were officially pooped.

IMG_3238 IMG_3237

However!  The adventures did not stop there.  Later that evening, I went with BBKF to see the Rocky Horror Picture Show.  The bag, of course, came with.

IMG_3239

Seeing the show was lots of fun, but the whole thing was entirely ridiculous.  If you’ve never seen the show in theaters, it involves much yelling at the screen and dancing in the aisles.  It’s a blast, but not for the faint of heart.  Maybe we’ll go together in the event that you move to Springfield.  Though I think you have to be 21 to get into the Gillioz showing.  I feel like this was a really solid sister bag adventure.  Also, we don’t have a sister bag category, so I’m fixing this.  We should make a new rule where we have to include the bag adventure in one of our posts.  The only downside to this outing was that I only came away with a paper noisemaker, which doesn’t make a very good bag gift.  I’ll have to see if I can scrounge up something before your visit this weekend.

On to the wreckage!

It will take a while to complete this weekend’s wrecking, but I initiated the beginning steps of composting.

IMG_3241 IMG_3242

We actually have a compost pile in the backyard, so I decided to dress up this little wormie for his slow return to the earth.  Composting takes quite some time to happen, or so I’ve learned.  But the stuff at the bottom of our pile has turned, mostly, to a dirt substance.  If I remember, I’ll take a periodic picture of the compost progression.

IMG_3243 IMG_3244

In case you wanted proof, you can see the little page inside all the muck.  You can also see the Belles, who is always intrigued by the compost pile.

Fate chose my postcard this week.  This page, which I think is the very first one, fell out of the book.  Trying to keep it in there was driving me crazy, so I decided to ship it on off.

IMG_3245 IMG_3246

I had been putting this one off because the trip to the mailbox doesn’t seem particularly enthralling.  I had considered driving somewhere to mail it in a different box, but that probably wouldn’t happen and seems slightly unsafe.  It might not be my favorite, but I’m fairly happy with it.

Anyhow, I hope your Mizzou competition went well!  Is it weird to be done with marching for the year?  Just think, you only have one year of high school marching left.  I hope you guys were pleased with your final performance.  I really enjoyed your bug page from last week.  I hadn’t even realized that was a task.  It’s inspired me to come up with something for that page as well.  Because you were so right when you said that was never, ever going to happen.

This past week I started on the reboot for my book idea.  If I sent you chunks as I finished them, would you read them and give me comments?  I’m not very far at all, but it is a start.  I want to participate in NaNoWriMo this year, but I know I can’t complete 50,000 words in the month of November.  I’m hoping to give myself a preemptive start on the process.  Who knows?  Maybe it will happen.

Annabelle is making her old man noises, so I suppose it is time for bed.  It’s so incredibly precious.  Nyxie and Belles are sitting by me on the couch, and Sparhawk is in the recliner.  Nyx wants very badly to keep an eye on him, but she keeps nodding off in the process.  It’s like a toddler wanting to stay up for their favorite movie, but is just too sleepy.  On that puppy note, I have captured a picture of Nyx and Annabelle splitting one of the beds for you!

IMG_3226

They remind me of a little yin-yang.  Cutest yin-yang ever.

That’s all for me.  I look forward to your post on Thursday!  And I’ll see you on Friday!

– Super Koala

 

Leave a Reply

