Covert Wrecking

Dearest Captain Spazzmataz,

I am so incredibly depressed.  We had a weird, spontaneous semi-blizzard happen today.  My snow day hopes rose so incredibly high.  But here it is, 6:30 in the evening, and no schools in our area have called off.  Le sigh.

Despite the snow with subsequent likely lack of snow day, today was a good day.  Annabelle and Nyxie had their first snow adventures of the year.  We went for one walk while it was still snowing, which resulted in much frolics.  We played in the backyard for a while, and I fed pop-up Izzy pumpkin bones over the fence.  I also figured out how to work my fireplace, which was an exciting thing I did all by myself.  Proud.

This week was a smidgen stressful.  We had a test this week, so I’ve been daily swarmed by children who think I have magical grading powers.  Fortunately, the last batch will be graded this evening, so I’ll be done with that.  Yesterday, I went on the most terrifying dog walk of my life.  I kind of wanted to throw up.  There was some off-leash monster dog that we encountered while it was very dark outside.  Initially, we were fine, but Nyx decided she wanted to bark at it, so it came charging toward us.  The scary thing was that there were absolutely no other people outside, and this dog had to weigh over 100 pounds easy.  Annabelle ended up pulling out of her collar and chasing after it, which was so scary.  I thought she was going to get in a fight.  To be honest, as brave as little girl is, she would have lost.  That’s when I started yelling a bunch.  I hollered for Annabelle, who ran back to us, and ran up to the door area of a house.  I’m not sure why.  I guess I was thinking I could try to get back up.  The dog was in the driveway, and I used an incredibly bossy voice I was unaware of, and told it to go away.  Magically, it did, and we scurried ourselves home.  Fortunately, we ended up very safe.

To cope, I bought lots of things online.  Also, because I actually needed them.  But we’re going to place partial blame on the monster dog.

I was so ridiculously pleased with my wrecking today.  And it was so very simple, which made it sort of better in a way.

I took badges from both books and cut them out.  This was slightly impressive, if I do say so myself, because my scissors were broken in half when I found them.

IMG_3335 IMG_3336

I wrote something positive on the back of each.  Mostly that I hoped they were having a good day.

IMG_3337 IMG_3338

Then I dropped them into my pocket and drove in the snow to one of my most favorite places.

IMG_3340

Of course it was Barnes and Noble.  I had needed to go anyway because I had some really fantastic coupons that expired today.  So I figured what better way to complete my wreckage than sprinkling some surprises (hopefully of joy) in my favorite place.  I found some of my favorite books and slipped my badges between the pages.

IMG_3341

The first choice was obviously To Kill a Mockingbird.  All together my eight books were TKAM, Cinder, Shadow and Bone, Fight Club, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-time Indian, I Am Mallala, A Dirty Job, and The Fault in Our Stars.  I think I made good choices.

I’ll never get to see anyone find them, which is kind of a bummer, but I hope they brighten someone’s day.

That’s all for me.  I just have some exciting news to share.

IMG_3330

I made gold!

Hope you have a lovely week,

– Super Koala

Leave a Reply

