A Million Little Pieces: First Thoughts

From the Desk of Captain Spazzmataz-

To the readers of the blog,

I apologize if my not posting on Thursday was upsetting to any of you, but since it was a holiday, I decided I would skip. I spent the evening in the company of Super Koala and other family members playing games and eating delicious food. It was a wondrous time, and I hope all of your Thanksgivings were equally as wonderful.

Now on to the real reason for this oddly timed post. As stated in Super Koala’s previous entry, we are starting a book club among ourselves. We will have a set number of pages that we read out of a book of our choosing, and then we will post about it whenever we finish the assigned task. We encourage you to also feel free to read the book with us and post comments about what you think of the book as well. Right now, as stated by the title of the post, we are reading A Million Little Pieces by James Frey, and we will be discussing the first five chapters. This post is a little unnecessary seeing as we read the book in the same room, but we figured we would start out right.

I already sort of had an idea of what the book was going to be about, so I wasn’t too surprised at how it started off. Some of the details were a little gruesome and frankly down right disgusting, but I think it is a realistic representation of a very extreme case of drug and alcohol abuse. I also really enjoyed the little poem at the very beginning. I think it explained the title very nicely and was a good addition to get the reader into the book. So far, I like it and I think it is a really good story. I think if Frey would have just marketed it as a fiction book, there wouldn’t have been such a fuss, and it would still be a very good novel.

Super Koala Thoughts:

It’s kind of nice to be finally reading the book that the Smoking Gun titled “A Million Little Lies.”  I also find it weirdly ironic because I continually get this book confused with Sarah Dessen’s The Truth About Forever.  Having finally started this book, I can safely say the two do not even exist in the same stratosphere, but you have to admit that the cover is a little cutesy.

I would just like to say that I really do not appreciate the lack of punctuation.  It’s seriously just a little rude.  Would it have really been so awful to just through in a few quotes every now and then?  Just for some sort of guidance.  I’ve always been terrible with “experimental” writing.  (You’re welcome, dear readers, for the quotation marks.)

Much like the Spazz, I enjoyed the poem at the beginning.  Fortunately I started this book with her, or I would have probably overlooked the poem altogether.  It’s a little early to pass any judgement, but it will be interesting to see how this compares to other addiction stories.  With books like Crank and Tweak (off the top of my head) and the older Go Ask Alice, it seems to have become one of those semi-common but still impacting topics.

Leave a Reply

