Neighborly Wrecking

Dearest Captain Spazzmataz,

Aren’t you proud of me?  My post is very on time this week.  However, as you mentioned in your previous post, I also only have one wrecking and post card.  This weekend has been incredibly stressful, and I just didn’t have the time to create two of each.  Next week for sure.

What made this weekend so stressful also made this weekend good.  On Saturday I was out of the house for eleven hours for speech purposes.  The team, as you know, ended up doing really well.  We took home medals in all of our events except for one and took third overall; not too shabby for a team of three.  I was very proud of them so I took them for sub-par Chinese food afterward.  Upon their request.

After speech, I had a few hours before Sparhawk got home.  I used that time to start frantically grading my personal narratives, which I still have like 30 of.  Stress.  Once he arrived, we quickly left to go to Corbin and Lauren’s.  Along with the puppy girls, of course.  The four of us along with BBKF had a sleepover of sorts.  We decided we wanted to watch movies until real late, and Corbin wanted to make us breakfast in the morning.  It was super delightful, and I got to sleep cuddled with the puppies in their guest room.  During this event we discovered Sparhawk has never seen any of the Brat Pack movies.  Legitimately none.  This horrific realization came at a rather unfortunate time, given they just took the Breakfast Club off Netflix.  We semi remedied this by having him watch Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.  I was lame and fell asleep before the end, but I made it to the parade scene, so I was happy.

After scrumptious breakfast involving steak and eggs, we made it back home.  I’ve spent all day doing horrible things like grading papers, and I’m still not done.  So much to do!  Belle and Nyxen have been extra lazy today, though.  They’ve been nice stress buddies.

My wrecking adventures this week made me very uncomfortable, but I managed to complete them.

The post card was one I’ve dreaded since I first flipped through the book.

IMG_6016

Today, I decided I’d conquer this beast.  And I had a brilliant idea.  I originally thought this one would be super weird because I’d have to put it in my immediate neighbors yards.  But that’s not true at all!  My neighborhood is huge, so I decorated it up a bit and decided to hide it in a yard on a different street.

IMG_6017 IMG_6018

I tried to write a cute message on the back, but I was rather distracted, so it came out a little iffy.  I waited for the cover of darkness to make my move.  Whilst walking the pups, I tucked it in between the fence slats of one of the backyards we regularly pass.  I happen to know nothing about them other than they have children.  It’s my hope that one of the little girls will find it, and maybe enjoy it.  I think an adult will probably just still find it creepy.

This evening’s walk also helped me complete my wrecking task!

IMG_6019

Tragically, this did not go as well as I planned.  All of the natural surfaces had no effect on the paper, and there was no proof of scraping.  In desperation, I turned to unnatural surfaces.

IMG_6020

This finally produced a result.  After scraping it on bushes, shrubs, trees, and grass, it took a brick wall, a fence, and the sidewalk to actually make marks on the paper.  This activity also made me rather uncomfortable as it’s the Super Bowl, which means Super Bowl parties, which means people congregating outside, which means witnesses to my odd scraping as I towed two puppies through a very windy neighborhood.  It was rough.

Anyway!  I’m going to continue my paper grading.  Wish me luck.  I love you, and I hope you had a nice weekend with not too much hating everyone!

Super Koala

Leave a Reply

