1001 Movies: Stand By Me

From the Bed of Captain Spazzmataz:

This evening, after much prompting from Super Koala, we set out to watch Stand By Me. I originally expected it to be a movie that I had never seen before, but then I realized that I had seen bits and pieces of it, but never the entire thing. I pleasantly surprised by the movie, and I really enjoyed it. It was a great way to relax after doing research for homework. Although the movie was kind of sad, (especially at the end) I really liked the movie and would definitely watch it again. I think the movie was a little unrealistic because I just can’t see a group of twelve year old boys going out to find a dead body. It’s just not something that I would ever imagine, but I guess that is what makes it a good movie. I really liked it because there were laughable parts, serious parts, suspenseful parts, and nonsense parts. There were many twists and turns that I wouldn’t suspect, but there were also many predictable moments. The movie was so simple but also not all at the same time. I guess the combination of a great cast, director, and script made this movie what it is. I don’t think it would have been nearly as good if just one person was different. Overall, a really excellent film, and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Also, their high-wasted jeans and rolled up cuffs really piece everything together.

From the Couch of Super Koala:

I really have no business reviewing this movie because I love it in a totally biased way.  I’ve loved it and King’s The Body for a long time.  It’s one of the few film adaptations of a literary work that I enjoy just as much as the written version.

One of my favorite parts of the movie is the soundtrack; it’s so well timed and well synced with all the rollercoaster emotional elements of the film.  River Phoenix and Corey Feldman, who I already adore from The Goonies, totally make this for me as well.  And blonde, angry Keifer Sutherland.  Just so many good things.  Enough gushing; if you’re reading this go watch the movie because it’s a blast.

P.S. Sparhawk is presently watching the last rant from the Aileen Wuornos movie again.  He finds it fascinating.  Bonus parts for the documentary.

2 thoughts on “1001 Movies: Stand By Me

  1. Pingback: 1001 Movies We Will Watch Before We Die | The Adventures of Super Koala and Captain Spazzmataz

Leave a Reply

