1001 Movies: Young Frankenstein

From the Bed of Super Koala:

Last week, we watched Mel Brooks’ Young Frankenstein in my English IV class, which gave us an excellent occasion to cross another movie off the list.  I enjoyed the movie, but watching it with ten seventeen-year-olds was kind of disappointing because I feel like the humor was lost on most of them.  I guess I’ll officially find out when I grade their film analysis papers. Anyhow, this was the first viewing of the film for myself.  I found the humor so amusing, even if I wasn’t necessarily laughing out loud the entire time.  It was a little hard to forget that Gene Wilder is really Willy Wonka in disguise, but I feel like the casting was spot on.  I particularly love Peter Boyle as the monster.

That being said, the whole production is rather ridiculous.  I know that’s the point, but really.  So ridiculous.  I think that’s what prevented my class from truly enjoying it.  For better or worse, this isn’t a predominant style of humor anymore, so they don’t know how to respond to it.  For myself, I enjoyed the spoof tactics and definitely prefer this comedy to any traditional horror film. Solidly four stars.

From the bed of Captain Spazzmataz:

This was one of the weirder movies I have seen in a while. Everything was just so out of the ordinary, I really don’t know how I feel. I have yet to see the real Frankenstein movie, so maybe it would make a little more sense if I had. I mean of course I know the story of Frankenstein, but I have never read the book or watched the movie. My absolute favorite part is the fact that every time they say Frau Blucher’s name the horses cry out. It is really quite fantastic and always made me chuckle a little. All in all, it is one of the better spoofs I have ever seen, and for that it deserves four stars.

One thought on “1001 Movies: Young Frankenstein

  1. Pingback: 1001 Movies We Will Watch Before We Die | The Adventures of Super Koala and Captain Spazzmataz

Leave a Reply

