1001 Movies: Good Morning, Vietnam

From the Bed of Captain Spazzmataz, but Written by Super Koala:

Why, oh, why, oh, why, oh, why, oh, why.  This was my first viewing of a Robin Williams’ film since the late, great comedian’s passing.  It was an emotional thing, settling in to watch a movie and then being terribly saddened.  Anyhow, onto reviewing and such.

I would easily recommend anyone see this film, just to view the improvised radio broadcasts.  The faux news that Williams made up makes for some fantastic comedy skits that I think nearly anyone could enjoy.

As I texted to Spazzmataz during my viewing, Good Morning, Vietnam caused a lot of feelings.  True, it’s funny, but it’s also touching and moving.  The setting occurs during a rather dark and tumultuous period in American/Vietnamese history, and the movie did a good job showcasing some of those situations and bringing those varying emotions to the surface.

Forest Whitaker forever.

Four stars.

From the Bed of Captain Spazzmataz:

I too felt the great sadness of watching a Robin Williams film. I don’t think it will ever be the same. Despite the fact, I really enjoyed this movie.

I really loved the General. He was so great, and it was hilarious to watch him put down the Lieutenant and Sargent Major. Also, when he teaches his class baseball, it is basically the most precious thing ever. And it ended on a happy note which is always a plus. The only problem I had with the movie was the bit with Diana Ross and the Suprawns. It was disgusting.

I have to give this movie Five stars because I would definitely watch it again.

One thought on “1001 Movies: Good Morning, Vietnam

  1. Pingback: 1001 Movies We Will Watch Before We Die | The Adventures of Super Koala and Captain Spazzmataz

Leave a Reply

