1001 Movies: Robocop

From the bed of Captain Spazzmataz:

I have very mixed feelings about Robocop. First off, it is a really great idea. The plot was actually enjoyable which made for an entertaining movie, and some of the scenes were really cool. I especially liked when they were creating Robocop, and the viewers see things through his eyes. Really any part where the audience was seeing as Robocop, I enjoyed. However, because of the age of this film, some of the effects really took away from the overall movie quality. The E.D. 209 robots looked almost like Bob the Builder style animation when they were moving, and the cartoonish effect that had really detracted from how cool it could have been. Also, for how gory this movie is, they could have done a better job with the bloody special effects. Really, in general, they could have cut some of the gore out. It wasn’t really necessary.

I only have two problems with the plot. One, they didn’t do a very good job of erasing his memory. If that was their goal, they totally failed. Someone who has had their memory erased should not have dreams regarding their past. And second, if bad guy bullets don’t even faze Robocop, then why do the cops bullets put holes in his armor? Their bullets aren’t different, so why is the damage so drastically different? Oh, and I couldn’t stop picturing Clarence Boddicker (played by Kurtwood Smith) as Red from That 70s Show.

Overall, a pretty good movie. 3 stars.

Super Koala Thoughts:

OH MY GOODNESS, THE E.D. 209 ROBOTS ARE TOTALLY A BOB THE BUILDER PRECURSOR.  THAT’S DEFINITELY WHAT IT REMINDED ME OF.  THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS KNOWLEDGE.

That aside, the journey that was RoboCop was an odd one.  For some reason that I just don’t know, I thought Arnold Schwarzenegger (spelled right on my first try, what what) was the RoboCop.  Like, I swore this was one of his movies.  I dunno.  But I do know that I perpetually waited for Ah-nold to emerge in all his RoboCop glory, and that distracted me throughout the beginning of the movie.  This disorientation only deepened when I realize my beloved Red Foreman was a bad guy.  And I just never recovered.

Independent of my own incorrect preconceived notions, I thought this movie was delightful.  It’s so funny and satirical, which I was just not expecting at all.  I love the integrated commercial and TV segments, and the general naming of the products.  6000 SUX, An American Tradition.  Hilarious!

The storyline also went deeper than I thought it would, complete with a few twists and turns.  Nothing too dramatic, which given the Robo suit, I felt was good for the movie.  Unlike Spazz, I was very pro the obviously fake and excessive gore.  For me, it added to the satirical feel.

Overall: Super pleased, would watch again.  4 stars.

One thought on “1001 Movies: Robocop

  1. Pingback: 1001 Movies We Will Watch Before We Die | The Adventures of Super Koala and Captain Spazzmataz

Leave a Reply

