1001 Movies: Taxi Driver

From Super Koala’s Chair, this is Captain Spazzmataz:

Where do I start? This was probably the most boring movie off of the list yet. It was the biggest waste of two hours ever. I don’t understand how this film could ever have, yet alone still have, a 98% rating on Rotten Tomatoes. It just doesn’t make any sense to me. For starters, the plot was really jumpy. Transitions were awkward, and it was confusing to follow how all of a sudden he is obsessed with this girl. Also, I don’t understand why his hair kept getting shorter. That part didn’t make much sense either. By the end he just looked like a crazy person.

Maybe if I had lived through the Vietnam war it would have made more sense, but from my standpoint there was no purpose to this movie. The only reason Super Koala and I have determined it to be of value to the list is because of the two minute clip of the famous line, “Are you talkin’ to me?” Otherwise, a total waste of time. 1 star.

From the Couch of Super Koala:

I DON’T GET IT.

Like, really, I don’t.  I get it on a cognitive level, wherein I get why I should like the movie.  I get why history still talks about the movie.  And I get why it got four stars from Roger Ebert.  But I still don’t like it.  Nothing about this movie mad me happy.  I didn’t empathize with Travis and his darkness.  I didn’t feel uncomfortable as he bumbled through a life he no longer fits inside of.  All of that was incredibly predictable due to the clearly emerging craziness of his character.

It is only because of my inability to relate to this story on any level that I think Scorsese might have done a fantastic job with the direction.  The story is told so exclusively through Travis’s point of view that I can only see it from an outsider’s perspective.  Tragically, as an outsider, the character Travis Bickle just makes me raise my eyebrows and wait for the behavioral ridiculousness to end.

Two stars.

One thought on “1001 Movies: Taxi Driver

  1. Pingback: 1001 Movies We Will Watch Before We Die | The Adventures of Super Koala and Captain Spazzmataz

Leave a Reply

