1001 Movies: Four Weddings and a Funeral

From the Couch of Super Koala, Do I Ever Leave?, You May Wonder:

Our streak of romantic comedies continues with the 1994 film, Four Weddings and a Funeral.

It was kind of strange to have a movie that spoiled all of the events in its own title.  But, Spazzmataz and I had fun guessing what weddings and whose funeral would follow.  The movie itself was cute; it was fun and refreshing.  I’m so used to seeing suave, playboy Hugh Grant that it was nice to see baby him looking sheepish and unsure.

My show stealer for this one was easily John Hannah.  My only John Hannah movies had been the Mummy series, don’t judge too harshly, where I also adored him.  But this performance was so different from the goofy, inappropriate character in the Mummy.  He was so heartfelt, soft, and endearing.  The eulogy he delivers at the titular funeral was so tasteful; I loved everything about it.

The movie basically summarizes everything a nine season sitcom does on television.  It presents a great group of friends, plenty of hijinks, and a sense of honesty.  The characters haven’t been given too much movie magic; they’re realistic and, as such, very lovable.

Four stars.

Butt Total: None.  Though it was precarious.

From the Chair of Super Koala, this is Captain Spazzmataz:

I too enjoyed the fun and charming attitude of this movie. Movies are almost always better when everyone (or in this case almost everyone) is British. It just makes everything more enjoyable to listen too.

All of the characters were all likable, his brother was hilarious, his friends are absolutely wonderful and I want them to be my friends. There were definitely parts that kept me guessing which is pretty amazing because most romantic comedies are very predictable. I felt many feelings. I was happy, giggling, upset, stressed, and everything in between. Basically this movie had all of the really great elements that made me happy. It was especially refreshing amidst all of the war movies that we have watched lately.

4 stars

One thought on “1001 Movies: Four Weddings and a Funeral

  1. Pingback: 1001 Movies We Will Watch Before We Die | The Adventures of Super Koala and Captain Spazzmataz

Leave a Reply

