1001 Movies: Titanic

From the Bed of Captain Spazzmataz:

Titanic. Where do I begin.

I am going to start by saying that I now officially feel more cultured because, believe it or not, this is the first time I have seen the movie. Ever. In 17 years, I have only seen it once. I think it is pretty amazing that I hadn’t seen it until now.

Don’t get me wrong, the movie was really great, but I don’t think any movie should be much longer than two hours. After that, I just lose interest, and it seems like a hassle to watch it because they take up so much time. After watching Titanic, I felt like my entire afternoon had been wasted. If Rose would have not gone back down so many times, it would have shaved off a lot of time.

That is the other issue I had. Rose could have been on a lifeboat with her mother very early. And then she was safely on one later, but decided it would be a good idea to jump off! Jack seemed like a very resourceful guy, so I am pretty sure he would have found his way onto a boat if he didn’t have to worry about getting her on to one so much. If Rose would have just done what she was told to, they probably both would have lived.

Other than that and the time, I really did enjoy the movie. I loved how detailed everything was as well as how the movie shifted in and out of present and past time. The casting was really wonderful too. DiCaprio and Winslet’s chemistry on screen was just fantastic, and you could tell they were having fun with it. Also, the music was just phenomenal. The soundtrack was so fitting that the mood and setting and everything melded so well and really pulled everything together. It won three Oscars and two Golden Globes just for the sound and music, and they were definitely rightly awarded.

I can say with confidence that this movie belongs on this list.

4 Stars

From the Couch of Super Koala, Who is Skyping the Spazz:

Just as the Spazzmataz before me, I too enjoy Titanic.  Titanic came out when I was much younger (second grade? I dunno), and it was all the rage with its pretty boy DiCaprio and nudie Kate Winslet parts.  It was quite the topic of gossip, whose parents would let them watch Titanic and whose would not.

My only frustration regarding Titanic is everyone’s frustration regarding Titanic.  Why is Rose so dumb?  Like the Spazz pointed out, Rose has so many chances to live that could have also resulted in Jack living.  There’s a certain point where it’s not “romantic” anymore and just becomes shenanigans level selfish.  To demonstrate with the door alone:

That being said, the movie is beautiful.  I love the sets so much.  And Bernard Hill as the Captain anyone?  So underrated.

I also give it four stars.

2 thoughts on “1001 Movies: Titanic

  1. I can’t explain it, but everytime it reaches the ending and like the flashback plays when they’re young again and they’re both like in heaven, that gart gets me in the feels and I start tearing up??? Lols!

Leave a Reply

