1001 Movies: The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari

From the Bed of Super Koala:

Among many movies on this list that have made me feel otherwise, I think this film truly counts as one I should see before I die.  I feel like it gives great exposure to horror films, silent films, and foreign films.  While it occasionally made me sleepy, and I don’t need as long as it gave me to read the dialogue items, I actually really enjoyed the production of this movie.

Easily, my favorite part of this movie was what they did with the set.

I read that the sets were made out of paper.  Given this, I love what the achieved with concepts depth and lighting.  It’s absolutely beautiful, while still being very macabre.  All the attention to details and nuances made this really enjoyable on a purely visual level.  I think they did an equally impressive job creating similar effects with the character’s make up.

After viewing the ending twist, I can’t help but wonder how influential this movie was on films and literature to follow.  The “it’s all a delusion” is still used films today.  (Here’s looking at you, Shutter Island.)  I definitely want to learn more about this topic, and when this particular plot device rose to popularity.  It will be interesting to see where The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari comes into play.

Overall, four stars.

From the Bed of Captain Spazzmataz,

First off, I really like that this movie was broken up into acts. Due to the fact that it was a silent film, and that I was watching it pretty late at night, I appreciated that I could measure how much time was left by the acts and therefore it was easier to stay awake. Not that the film was boring at all, as a matter of fact it was very entertaining, but silent films demand a different kind of wakefulness that is very difficult to maintain when you are sleepy to begin with.

I give super props to this movie given the fact that I had no idea what was going on or what was going to happen until about the last thirty seconds of the movie. Most movies today are very predictable, and I am glad that I was kept guessing until the end. I had no idea that it was all a hallucination of sorts, so the entire time I was just really perplexed by all of the events that took place.

Now that I know the nature of the movie, the sets totally make sense. While watching it, I was very confused by the slanty buildings and strange shadows, but at the end it all came together.

It is one of those movies that makes you think about everything you just saw after it is over, and I really appreciate that. Also, I think it would be so cool to see how amazing those actors would be if they could act in a movie today. They had such amazing body language and facial expressions that were crucial because of the lack of words. I think all actors should have to go through a silent film class or something to learn how to portray emotion and expression like that.

Great movie. 4 stars.

One thought on “1001 Movies: The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari

  1. Pingback: 1001 Movies We Will Watch Before We Die | The Adventures of Super Koala and Captain Spazzmataz

Leave a Reply

