Rip it! Write it! Draw it! (Doing it!)

Dearest Super Koala,

I am finally doing it! I have started our new project. It took us awhile to get started, hopefully now everything can run smoothly. For those of you who don’t know, Super Koala and I have decided to put Keri Smith to the side and start a new project. Here is the first two pages of our new book.

IMG_1151

The first page was to make a welcome page and then write three things you are learning about yourself. I decided to go for a chevron theme for my welcome, but I realized that it would have looked a lot better if I would have allotted more time to complete it. Who knew that making a chevron pattern would be so difficult. Also, instead of markers I am going the colored pencil route on this book, and after doing this page I am super jealous of Super Koala’s fancy colored pencils. I simply have Crayola, which are nice, but they aren’t nearly as smooth as the prismacolor ones.

Anyway, the three things I wrote are:

1. I am super lucky to have a sister that loves me so much.

I know this is kind of cheesy, but yes, my sister is amazing, and I know plenty of people that despise their siblings, so I am very fortunate to have one that is basically the best.

2. I am way more dedicated than I though I was.

I know people going into the music education field practice their instruments for hours on end each day. I never thought I could be that person and therefore started having doubts as to whether I was cut out for it or not. Lately though, I have been practicing for at least an hour a day, and I realize that I want to practice even more after that. I am happy to have realized this within myself.

3. I need to let other people do things too.

I have realized that I am sort of super controlling, especially when it comes to school things. I was doing a group project in Astronomy, and I realized that the other people in my group were just as capable as I am. So, I am going to try to allow others work on important things.

IMG_1149

This second page was pretty fun; it instructed me to create a checkerboard on the page and then play checkers with someone. For my checkerboard, I decided to get a little squiggly. Then, at lunch, I used folded up paper as the pieces and played with one of my friends. She wound up winning.

Welp, I get to see you today which is super exciting! I can’t wait to see what you come up with on Monday.

Leave a Reply

